New Hampshire Football Report

Lancers finish strong

Londonderry entered the Division I championship game plus-17 in turnover margin, and added to that total Sunday night.

Londonderry forced three Exeter turnovers and scored 14 points in a span of 4:28 in the fourth quarter to post a 21-10 victory in Sunday’s Division I title game in wet and windy conditions at the University of New Hampshire’s Wildcat Stadium.

Exeter led 10-7 when halfback Jaedon Cliche scored on a 2-yard run and Nolan Elmore added the PAT with 10:26 to play. It was the first time the Lancers (12-0) had trailed after halftime this season.

NHIAA 2019 DI Final

Londonderry responded with a seven play, 56-yard drive capped by quarterback Jake McEachern’s 1-yard TD run. Exeter fumbled the ensuing kickoff, and Londonderry recovered on the Exeter 26-yard line. Tyler Kayo turned the takeaway into points when he scored on a 2-yard run with 4:21 to play.

Exeter’s final possession ended the team’s third turnover — an interception deep in Londonderry territory. The Blue Hawks (10-2) turned the ball over four times in their first 11 games (one fumble, three interceptions).

McEachern ran for 112 yards and two touchdowns on 20 carries. Londonderry running back Jeff Wiedenfield went over the 1,000-mark by rushing for 95 yards on 18 attempts. He entered the game with 914 yards rushing this season.

Exeter had four players rush for between 39 and 45 yards: Derek Edmiston 14-45; Spencer Clark 11-46; Ryan Grijalva 8-41 and Cliche 9-39.

Exeter opened the scoring on Elmore’s 26-yard field goal with 7:12 left in the opening quarter. McEachern gave the Lancers the lead on a 1-yard run with :52 seconds remaining in the first half. Londonderry remained in front 7-3 until the fourth quarter.

Exeter had the ball for 23:26 through three quarters (36 minutes). The Blue Hawks converted on 8 of 12 third downs, and 2 of 3 fourth-down plays.

Londonderry linebacker Will Reyes led all tacklers with 12 (two solo). Dayton Christenson led Exeter with 11 (five solo).

It was Londonderry’s first championship since it beat Concord 33-7 in the 1998 Division I title game.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login