New Hampshire Football Report

Shrine Camp: Day 5

66th Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl

New Hampshire has announced its captains for this year’s Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl. New Hampshire has five captains: Nashua North’s Mike Loveless, Kingswood’s Cameron Mann, Bedford’s Zach Garron and Nashua South’s Nathaniel Tejada. In addition, Bow’s Jack Wixson was named a captain because he was the team’s top fundraiser. … Tejada is battling Stage II Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. He was cleared to play in the game, but New Hampshire coach Bill Raycraft said Tejada has been traveling from Shrine Camp at Castleton (Vt.) University to Boston for additional treatment this week. Raycraft said he does expect Tejada, a defensive lineman, to play Saturday, when New Hampshire takes on Vermont at Castleton (5:30 p.m.). … New Hampshire will be trying to end a three-game losing streak in this year’s Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl. Vermont has outscored New Hampshire 93-15 in the last three games, but New Hampshire leads the series 47-17-2 … Pinkerton Academy tight end/defensive end Michael Sarette is among those on this year’s New Hampshire roster. Sarette’s grandfather, Don Sarette, played at Manchester Central and was a quarterback on the 1959 Syracuse team that won the national championship. Michael Sarette, a Hooksett resident, began his high school career at Central, but transferred to Pinkerton following his sophomore season. … Lebanon’s David Faulkner holds the Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl record for passes caught in the game. He made eight receptions during New Hampshire’s 27-12 victory in 1967. Gilford’s Kyle Gaudet holds the record for receiving yards. Gaudet caught five passes for 190 yards in New Hampshire’s 24-12 triumph in 2015.


Tickets for Saturday’s game are $12 if purchased in advance, and $15 on game day. Tickets are available through the Shrine football office by calling (603) 448-1042, and online at

You must be logged in to post a comment Login