New Hampshire Football Report

CAA unveils spring schedule

RICHMOND, Va. (October 27, 2020) – CAA Football announced its conference schedule for the 2021 Spring season, which includes a six-game slate for each institution using a unique divisional format.

The North Division will include seven teams – UAlbany, Delaware, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Stony Brook and Villanova. There will be four teams in the South Division – Elon, James Madison, Richmond and William & Mary. Teams in the North will face each other once (three home, three away), while teams in the South will meet twice, with each team getting a home and an away game. Towson announced on October 19 that it would not compete during the 2021 Spring season.

The team with the best overall conference record will earn the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Football Championship. Should the divisional champions finish with the same conference record, a tie-breaking procedure will be used to determine the automatic qualifier.

“We are pleased to announce the conference schedule for the 2021 Spring football season, but understand this is just the next step in the planning process associated with playing football on each of our campuses,” CAA Commissioner Joe D’Antonio said. “Our unique divisional format was developed with the goal of enhancing safety and reducing the risks associated with travel during this difficult period of time, while still providing a fair and competitive model to determine a champion.  Today’s announcement hopefully provides an additional level of excitement for the student-athletes and coaches who have worked hard and made numerous sacrifices over the past eight months.  As always, health and safety remain at the forefront of all return-to-play decisions that we as a Conference continue to make.”

Conference play would begin on Saturday, March 6 and conclude on Saturday, April 17. Each team would have a bye week in the schedule, which could provide flexibility to make up games postponed by the COVID-19 pandemic if necessary.

Each institution has the option of adding up to two additional non-conference games to their schedule. Institutions are able to schedule “non-conference” games against other conference members, but those games would not count towards the conference standings and the outcome would not be used in the tiebreaking procedures. Based on NCAA guidelines, teams are allowed to begin non-conference competition as early as January 23.

The NCAA Football Championship will feature 16 teams with 11 automatic qualifiers and five at-large berths. The playoffs are set to begin on Saturday, April 24 with a champion being crowned in Frisco, Texas on May 14, 15 or 16.


Saturday, March 6
Maine at Delaware
UAlbany at New Hampshire
Villanova at Stony Brook
James Madison at Elon
William & Mary at Richmond

Saturday, March 13
William & Mary at James Madison
Elon at Richmond
Rhode Island at Villanova
Stony Brook at Delaware
UAlbany at Maine

Saturday, March 20
Delaware at New Hampshire
Rhode Island at UAlbany
Maine at Stony Brook
Richmond at James Madison
Elon at William & Mary

Saturday, March 27
Richmond at Elon
James Madison at William & Mary
Stony Brook at UAlbany
New Hampshire at Villanova
Delaware at Rhode Island

Saturday, April 3
Villanova at Maine
New Hampshire at Rhode Island
UAlbany at Delaware
William & Mary at Elon
James Madison at Richmond

Saturday, April 10
Richmond at William & Mary
Elon at James Madison
Maine at Rhode Island
Stony Brook at New Hampshire
Villanova at UAlbany

Saturday, April 17
New Hampshire at Maine
Delaware at Villanova
Rhode Island at Stony Brook

You must be logged in to post a comment Login